New legislation in New Jersey requires employers to offer pretax transportation benefits. The law requires employers with 20 or more employees to offer the fringe benefits for the 2019 calendar year. Employees may deduct from wages up to $265 per month ($3,180 per year) for mass transit costs and parking expenses. Employers under a collective bargaining agreement and certain federal employees are excluded. Employers in violation of the requirement will be fined $100 to $250 for a first violation. Read Senate Bill 1567 here. © 2019
Contact the CG Team with questions via the form to the right or call 732.676.4100.
“New Jersey S1567 | 2018-2019 | Regular Session.” LegiScan. March 1, 2019. Accessed March 28, 2019. https://legiscan.com/NJ/text/S1567/2018.